current
archives
cast
rings
cliques
links
gbook
mail
profile
101 things
pics
notes
quizzes
readers
jay
wyatt
pippin
chase
sisters
fiction
hotwt
diaryland

what i learned today 16 June 2003 @ 12:23 am

*sigh* Okay, I was going to post some pictures of me with my new haircut that Jay took tday, only my camera ate them because it was low on batteries. Stupid piece of crap. I wish I could afford a nice digital camera. So anyway, not pics just yet.

Yeah, I got my hair cut. The same length as the short-short hair pics on the older pics page. Only styled different. I was thinking of spiking it just a bit, but it's too long. But anyway, when I went to church today, about a dozen people told me how cute it was, and a few people hardly recognized me, I look so different. Other words used to describe my new 'do included sassy, cute, great, etc. So it made me feel good.

Hrmmm...I guess I don't exactly know how to approach this subject other than to just blurt it out. When we were at church today, a guy gave a talk that really offended a lot people in the congregation. At first, I will admit, I thought, "Who the hell does he think he is, to come in here telling us this?" And then I realized: he was right. Everything he said was absolutely correct. And I knew it. But boy, did he look angry. And as I was walking out of the chapel, I heard a guy behind me say, "He offended everyone in the chapel, universally!" I think that was a little overboard, but I realize that he probably did offend a number of people.

So after dinner at my folks' house, we discussed our reactions to the talk. Sean and I agreed that he could have perhaps presented his topic in a less volatile manner. Dad said that Seth is young, and that when we're young, we sometimes say things more harshly than they should be said. Jay thought he came across as more than a little arrogant.

I guess first I should explain something. I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, often called the Mormon church. I say that because you have to have a little bit of background for this to make more sense. Seth was talking about missionary work, and how the gospel was not being spread as well as it could be because we as a people, especially in our specific ward, have gotten content and complacent, and that we don't have the faith to get out and do things, to get out and spread the message in the way that we should be. I don't really remember all that he said, but I do remember how I felt, and I really felt like I'm trying to do my part, what with Jay learning more about the church, but there's more I could be doing.

I'm not trying to say I'm going out to convert the whole world. I'm not about converting people, or at least...gah, I don't know what I'm trying to say. I think maybe I'm trying to say that I want to share the knowledge and happiness I have with other people, but I don't quite know how, and I don't know when or if people want to or are ready to hear the message. I want people to feel and know the happiness that I feel and know. But I'm not going to cram it down anyone's throat.

This is my diary. I'm not forcing anyone to read this if they don't want to, but if you want to know where I stand religiously, then keep reading. I want to take this opportunity to express my testimony in Jesus Christ. I know that He lives. I know that He knows and loves each and every one of us. He knows everything about us: our favorite color, our favorite food, our childhood fears, and even the fears we still hold as adults. He knows our happiness and our sorrow, and He's there whenever we need Him. All we have to do is reach out and invite Him into our lives.

It's like that picture: Christ is knocking at the door, but there's no latch on the outside. He can't let Himself in. The person inside has to let Him in. And if we want Christ in our lives, we have to open the doors to our hearts to Him. We have to let Him work His miracles on us. We have to want Him in our lives.

I don't know about any of the rest of you out there, but I want Christ in my life. I'm not perfect. I make mistakes, I sin, I struggle. But Jesus knows me. He knows how I struggle, how I sin, how many mistakes I've made. But He also sees all the good in me, that I don't always recognize. All the talents I have, all the good things I've done, all the people I love. And sometimes all the bad things I've done outweigh the good, but I know that if I truly repent, if I ask forgiveness, Christ will grant it to me. He makes up for all our shortcomings. He loves us.

At times in our lives, we feel helpless, we sometimes feel like no one knows our pains and our sorrows, but He does. He does. He has experienced every pain and sorrow imaginable. He experienced all that so that He would know how we felt. He bled and suffered for our sins and shortcomings. He died and was resurrected, overcoming death so that we might do the same, and have perfect immortal bodies, and never know death again.

I don't know about anyone else, but I feel terrible that I have caused Him so much pain. I do so much that is wrong. And I don't want Christ to have suffered in vain. I want to do the right thing.

If any of my readers are still around, I must tell you this: YOU are a Child of God. YOU are worth something. YOU are loved. YOU can make a difference.

Thanks for letting me have my say, and I hope maybe someone gets something out of this besides me. By the way, if anyone's interested in learning more about my church, you can email me or check out the official website here. I love you all. *hugs* Goodnight. :)

feeling:
current mood swing

talking:
no one

listening:
strong bad - fhqwhgads

thinking:
i'm so glad i got this out

before || after

last five:

too much to keep in
Today's Episode: Dad learns he is not Superman
sometimes you just can't think of anything witty to say
cliques
(insert witty title here)

Content � 2001-2003 Casey G unless otherwise credited

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

get your own
diary - guestbook - weblog - notifylist

Site Meter