current
archives
cast
rings
cliques
links
gbook
mail
profile
101 things
pics
notes
quizzes
readers
jay
wyatt
pippin
chase
sisters
fiction
hotwt
diaryland

101 things about me 04 June 2003 @ 9:48 am

1. My name is Casey Renee [insert maiden and married last names here].

2. Once, right after I got married, a guy from Australia sent me a random email. His name was Casey Ronald [insert my maiden name]. It was freaky enough that we had the same initials, but the thing that made this really freaky was that my uncle's name is Ronald.

3. I have four brothers, three older, and one younger.

4. Because I was married and had kids before anyone else, people often think I am the second sibling instead of the fourth.

5. I was named after Mattel's Casey doll (a friend of Barbie's) from the 60s. She was so hip.

6. It must have been destiny, because I love Barbies. I love to buy them, but not to collect. I still like to play with them.

7. I don't think I ever really grew up.

8. I like to sew, even though I'm not spectacular at it.

9. I love to dance. Again, not spectacularly.

10. I'm pretty religious, but the way I see it, people don't deserve any comtempt just because they sin. Hey, I sin too. Nobody's perfect.

11. I'm 5'7", with blue-grey eyes and slightly reddish light brown hair.

12. I am a freak of nature: my eyebrows are two different colors. The left is brown, and the right is white.

13. The right eye lashes are streaked through the center with white.

14. I wasn't born that way, they pigment just disappeared when I was about 14.

15. When I started RPing (role playing for those of you who are out of the loop), I wasn't looking for a place to RP. I was just looking for a place to hang out, similar to tarvalon.net. But instead, I found NWT, which led me to HotWT, and the rest is history.

16. I'm a closet poet.

17. I have a broad range of literary interests, from Tolkien to Shakespeare to Jane Austen to Phyllis A. Whitney to Helen Fielding to Laura Black to J.K. Rowling. Among others.

18. I'm a terrible housekeeper.

19. I like to think of myself as a tomboy, but the truth is, really, that I am the girliest girl there ever was.

20. I'm a Latter-Day Saint (also called Mormon), and I have been all my life. And yes, I believe in God and Jesus. Firmly.

21. I'm married to Jay. But you already knew that. :)

22. I have a son, Wyatt, who's about a year and a half old and lights up my life.

23. I have a bad habit of spending too much money.

24. I want to buy a house.

25. Mostly because I want to decorate it.

26. I love to give my son's stuffed animals very distinguished names. Examples: Monroe (a walrus), Hughbert (a bear), and Francois (a frog).

27. Jay named the frog, and I pointed out that it wasn't very nice to give the frog a French name. Jay laughed and said he didn't intend it to be derogitory.

28. I love old books.

29. The best gift I ever received (from someone other than my sweetheart) is a 102 year old second edition Tennyson collection.

30. I love to sing. My pipes have gotten a little rusty lately, but it's my only real talent.

31. I do home day care, which I swore I would never do, and the result is exactly what I knew it would be: I hate it. [edit: I have since finished with home day care, and now I just stay home with my son.]

32. I hate talking to strangers on the telephone.

33. I hate getting phone calls from people who want you to "Please hold for an important message." If you can't have a live person ask to speak with me from the get go, you aren't worth my time.

34. I love ice cream, and would eat it every day if I could.

35. I tolerate cats, but given the choice, would not get within yards of them. [edit: I have since learned that I am very allergic to cats. More than a couple hours in a house with cats makes Casey something something (go crazy? yes, definitely).]

36. I am very much a dog person. Short-haired dogs especially, like smooth weener dogs, Boston terriers and whippets.

37. I love magazines.

38. Magazines I currently buy/subscribe to: Victoria [edit: Not being published anymore! And it was my favorite magazine, too!], Mary Engelbreit's Home Companion, Martha Stewart Baby.

39. I hate Martha Stewart, but I love Martha Stewart Baby magazine. I justify buying it by telling myself that it's only her name on the cover--she doesn't write it--and it only comes out a few times a year.

40. I love catalogs.

41. Catalogs I currently receive: Pottery Barn, PB Kids, JCPenney, A Special Place, Tenderheart Treasures, Victorian Trading Co., Art and Artifact, Museum Replicas Ltd., American Girl.

42. I stole my dad's really good dictionary and thesaurus.

43. I get the spooks from old houses.

44. I'm afraid of the dark. I won't go out of my house alone if it's dark outside.

45. I'm terrified of dead animals.

46. I only eat boneless meat. I know it costs more, but I won't eat anything that is directly identifiable as something that was once part of an animal.

47. I refused to touch raw meat until after I was married.

48. I generally don't like to eat fish. The exceptions are: shrimp cocktail, small halibut, and occasionally salmon. But I really hate canned tuna.

49. I like movies, but I'm not a movie nut. The last five movies I rented were (in no particular order): Orange County, Bridget Jones's Diary, Tuck Everlasting, Barbershop, and The Four Feathers. I enjoyed them all. [edit: Since then, I have seen a great many more movies. The last five were X-Men, X2, Spiderman, The Good Girl, and About a Boy. Also all very good.]

50. I love to have shoes, but hate to wear them.

51. I have tons of crazy socks, eg striped with toes, butterflies, watermelon, monkeys, goldfish, etc.

52. I almost never wear said socks, or any socks at all.

53. I scar very easily.

54. When I was about 2, my brother snatched a thermometer from my hand (one of the glass, mercury-filled kind) and it broke; I had thirteen stitches down the center of my left palm, and the scar is still quite prominent.

55. My birthday (August 28th) is the same day as Billy Boyd's (the actor who played Pippin in Lord of the Rings).

56. Back to #8... Mostly I like to sew costumes, especially Renaissance, and I've started looking into LotR and Harry Potter costumes as well.

57. I have a knack for languages, though it's been some time since I studied one. Languages I know a few words in include German, Japanese, Spanish and French.

58. Along with languages, I have a knack for imitating accents. The accents I'm best at faking are British, Canadian and Texan, though I'm working on my Scottish.

59. Along with accents, I have a sometimes embarrassing (and mostly unconsious) habit of adopting bits of accents, so if you listen to me talk for a while, you'll notice my accent is mostly Yukon (from being raised in Alaska), with bits of Northern California (from my dad), Quebec (from a high school friend), Western New York (from living there for a little while), and occasionally New Zealand (from my favorite teacher) thrown in, depending on the word and the context.

60. I'm two inches shorter than my husband, but my feet and hands are slightly bigger than his.

61. I have a terrible habit of teaching my son naughty things like sticking out his tongue, blowing raspberries, and making faces at people.

62. Though I love to read (see #17), I don't often get the time to sit down with a book anymore. When I was still nursing my son (who's now almost 2), I used to read while he nursed, but I haven't nursed him for quite some time, so you can guess how well I've gotten to read since.

63. I love Lord of the Rings, but I held out on buying, or even renting, Fellowship until the extended version came out on DVD.

64. I will probably hold out on buying Two Towers until the extended version as well, but this time I think I'll rent it as soon as it's out so I can watch the RotK preview. [edit: I rented it. And whoa, mama, am I so stoked to see RotK.]

65. I didn't wait on the soundtracks. I bought them as soon after watching the films as I had money enough to buy them.

66. I collect teapots and other tea time paraphenalia.

67. I have asthma.

68. I think I want to eventually work in some way in theater or film.

69. I hate to fly, but I love to travel. Places I hope to one day visit include the UK (especially Scotland), Ireland, Germany, New Zealand, and Australia.

70. I'm right-handed, and wear my watch on my left wrist.

71. When I actually cook, I'm pretty good at it.

72. My favorite flowers are coral-pink roses.

73. I'm untidy, but also a perfectionist, which clashes big time. My house is often very messy, and it drives me crazy, but I'm thinking about and doing so many things all the time that I just don't think about tidying things up.

74. Like I said, I'm a perfectionist. This follows to my looks, especially how i wear makeup. If my skin isn't porcelain flawless, I won't wear base makeup. But my nose and forehead are perpetually flaky, so I almost never wear base makeup.

75. I have classic Attention Deficit Disorder (not to be confused with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder).

76. I don't take medication for it.

77. Jay and I are trying for our second child. We've had a rough time of it so far.

78. I am musically inclined. Besides singing, I have also played various instruments in the past: flute (my 6th grade year), percussion (in regular, pep, and symphonic bands in grades 7,8 & 9), and piano (lessons last year).

79. The only song I can play well on the piano is Enya's Watermark, which I played for my recital.

80. I'm working on the stuff in the LOTR:Fellowship songbook. [edit: I recently got the LOTR:TTT songbook as well.]

81. I desperately want the songbooks for the Harry Potter movies. Maybe for Christmas.

82. Though I don't really like cats, I did own one once. He's an orange tabby named Nikodemos, and he now lives with my in-laws in New York.

83. I graduated high school in 2000.

84. I failed seventh and eighth grades miserably, but was never held back, even when my parents requested it, because my standardized test scores were too high.

85. My most recent test scores: SAT Math - 550, SAT Verbal - 670 (SAT Total - 1220), ACT English - 32, ACT Math - 23, ACT Reading - 34, ACT Science - 21 (ACT Composite - 28). [edit: I took the ASSET English placement test in August and got a perfect score.]

86. I was accepted at, and would have attended, Arizona State University, except that I found out I was pregnant with Wyatt (due at finals time) the same week I got my acceptance letter.

87. I want to go back to school, but I'm not really sure what I want to go for. I still don't know what I want to be when I grow up.

88. My favorite beverages are apple juice, milk (whole milk, you fools! anything else is satan's milk!), ice water, root beer, and sprite.

89. My favorite season is autumn. I even love it in Alaska, where the only colors we get are yellow and occasionally some orange, and it only lasts two weeks. But I REALLY love autumn in Batavia, NY, where you get all kinds of vivid oranges and scarlets and burgundies, and it lasts until sometime in November.

90. I wear glasses to read.

91. I wear size 9-1/2 to 10 shoes.

92. I like to be active, and want to be more active, but there are so many enticing things to do whilst sitting on one's rump, like reading, watching movies and snuggling, and being on the computer.

93. I like to plant things, but I'm terrible at taking care of them. My thumb's not entirely black, but it's a rather dark shade of brown, I'm afraid.

94. I'm terrified of heights.

95. I closely identify with hobbits: I love good food and good drink and laughter and good people, and I'm inclined to be fat in my belly.

96. Also like hobbits, I like to live underground. Well, not exactly. But I do like to sleep in the basement, where it's cool in the summer and snug and warm in the winter.

97. Other things I like to sew (going back to #8 and #56) are quilts and blankets, though I haven't made many.

98. I like to write, but don't know if I consider myself a writer. So many of my good ideas have shrunk in my head like so many withered flowers.

99. I type pretty fast, but do mostly everything else pretty slow.

100. I am, as Laura and Cathie have so eloquently said it, a music whore. I like stuff from all kinds of genres, so I can't really put a label on the music that I like. I like music.

101. I have seen way too many movies, but my husband insists I see more. Check out the list of his favorite movies in his profile. I've watched most of those, and he wants me to watch the rest, plus about 40 more. Crazy.

feeling:
current mood swing

talking:

listening:

thinking:

before || after

last five:

too much to keep in
Today's Episode: Dad learns he is not Superman
sometimes you just can't think of anything witty to say
cliques
(insert witty title here)

Content � 2001-2003 Casey G unless otherwise credited

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

get your own
diary - guestbook - weblog - notifylist

Site Meter