current
archives
cast
rings
cliques
links
gbook
mail
profile
101 things
pics
notes
quizzes
readers
jay
wyatt
pippin
chase
sisters
fiction
hotwt
diaryland

adriel cormallen - brown ajah @

�Elanor!�

Adriel Cormallen walked from tree to tree in the orchard, limping slightly, searching for her little sister. She saw a sack of what appeared to be books fall from a plum tree a little ways off, and then slim, dark-stockinged legs dangling from the lower branches. Adriel limped hurriedly to lower seven-year-old Elanor from her perch.

�Mamma said you�re not supposed to climb the trees, sweetling,� Adriel chided her. She kissed Elanor�s honey brown curls--identical to her own--and straightened her ribbon. Elanor was brushing bark from her skirts, her hands stained with plum juice. When she looked up, Adriel saw sticky traces around Elanor�s mouth. �And I won�t tell that you were snitching plums if you go wash up now. Go on,� she said, swatting Elanor�s backside gently.

Adriel picked up the sack and smiled as she replaced a book that had fallen out. Peeking inside the bag, Adriel saw that they were all her favorite storybooks from her own childhood, the ones she read to Elanor every night. Still smiling, Adriel went back to the mansion to put the books away.

As Adriel came to the courtyard, however, she noticed a carriage pulling up. She hid behind a statue to wait and see who was inside. As the carriage pulled up to the doors, Adriel saw an unfamiliar crest gilded on the side. That�s strange... Mamma never mentioned any visitors coming.,she thought.

She shifted her position as a groom opened the carriage door. A young man, perhaps three or four years older than her, stepped out, turning back to the carriage to hand out a woman who looked very much like him. Must be his mother, Adriel thought. By their dress, she knew they were Cairhienin. The servants followed, and Adriel lost interest. She limped around to a side door and let herself in, heading for the library.

Deep in thought, Adriel never noticed her brother--heading toward her at top speed--until he ran straight into her, knocking her flat on her rear, the sack of books flying across the hall.

�Eadmon! How many times have I told you, Mamma doesn�t want you running through the house!� Adriel scolded.

�Sorry, Adri,� Eadmon said, helping her to her feet. Though he and Elanor were twins, the only likeness they shared was velvety brown Cormallen eyes. Eadmon�s hair was straight and so dark it was nearly black, as was their brother Aran�s and sister Eris�. �But I was looking for you. I saw a carriage come in! And papa is talking to the people in his study. He locked the door, but I listened at the keyhole, and they talked about you and Eris and getting married!�

�Married? Stop talking nonsense, Eadmon, I�m fourteen, and I won�t be married for a long time yet.�

�But that�s what the Lady said!�

�Enough, now run and play with Elanor.� Her hip aching, Adriel gathered the sack and books and continued on to the library.

As she put the books back on the shelf, she heard a sneeze from the back of the room. Startled and curious, she crept quietly to where she had heard the noise. Peeking around the bookshelves, she saw a dark-haired young man about her own age. She had seen him coming out of the carriage, and thought him a servant. Now she saw the slashes of color across the chest of his dark green coat. Another of our visitors.

�Excuse me,� Adriel said. �Can I help you find something?�

The young man started and snapped the book in his hands shut, sending a cloud of dust that set him sneezing again, and Adriel as well. They laughed nervously as the dust cleared, and Adriel saw that though his features were plain, he had beautiful eyes and a contagious smile. She smiled shyly at him and held out a hand.

�I�m Adriel Cormallen.�

Taking her hand in his own, the young man bowed over it awkwardly and kissed it. �Ethain Caldevwin, my lady.� He looked up and gave her a mischievous grin. Adriel laughed again, this time more easily. �I was just looking for something interesting to read.� He held up a book of essays on gardening. �This was not quite what I had hoped for.�

�I have some volumes on the Old Tongue in my rooms, would you like to see them?� Ethain hesitated, and she hurried on. �I have a sitting room, and we could leave the doors open, for propriety�s sake, if you like.� Ethain placed the book back on the shelf.

�I would like that very much, Lady Adriel.�

�You don�t have to use my title. That�s so stuffy. I�m not going to call you Lord Ethain, after all.�

�I suppose that�s fair enough.� He gave another infectious smile. �Shall we?� he asked, offering his arm. Adriel grinned and took it.

When they started to walk, however, Ethain noticed her slight limp. �Are you hurt?� he asked worriedly.

Adriel looked puzzled for a moment. �No...� She paused, and suddenly recognition lit her eyes. �Oh... The limp.� She gave a self-deprecating smile and shrugged. �It�s nothing. My left leg is shorter than the right. I was born that way. Sometimes it gives me a little trouble, but it�s nothing I can�t handle.�

Ethain looked at her intently, then smiled again. �Well, I suppose if it doesn�t matter to you, it doesn�t matter to me. Now, where is it we�re going?�

�This way.� Adriel pointed to the left outside the door to the library. I wonder what he meant by that, she thought, recalling the things Eadmon had told her. And there were two young men. Mentally shrugging it off, Adriel pointed the way to her rooms.

As the afternoon passed, a strong connection formed between the two young people. Adriel marveled that they had only just met. She seemed to have known Ethain forever! They talked about the Old Tongue, their families, and just about anything that came up in the conversation.

After a while, they grew quiet and sat in companionable silence. Though things were comfortable between Ethain and herself, the temperature in the room was not. She went and opened a window, and when she turned around, found herself only inches from Ethain. They were of a similar height, about five and a half feet, so they were face to face. Ethain bit his lower lip, closed his eyes and kissed her quickly.

Adriel gasped and tripped over herself backing up, falling on her backside. �What was that all about?� she asked, shocked.

�I�m sorry,� Ethain blurted as he helped her up. �I�ve wanted to do that all afternoon... I like you a lot, Adriel.� He was really quite flustered. �This isn�t exactly how I pictured it happening, though.�

Adriel laughed, and Ethain looked down, seemingly hurt by her laughter. Still holding his hands, she kissed him lightly. �It�s alright, it just took me by surprise, that�s all. But we really shouldn�t be kissing in here. I�ll get in trouble.�

Ethain looked confused. �Why? We�re going to be married, so does it really matter?�

�Married!? What gave you that idea?�

�Well, that�s why I�m here. My mother is the High Seat of House Caldevwin, and she�s negotiating marriages for me and my brother Jaichim. He�s a year older than Eris.�

Her earlier conversation with Eadmon came back to her thoughts. Well, at least I like him. And it will be a few years before we marry, anyway. Adriel shrugged, and repeated her thoughts to Ethain, who grinned.

�I see you�ve met Lord Ethain,� a deep male voice said from across the room. A tall, broad man with close-cropped hair the same golden brown as Adriel�s filled the doorway.

�Papa!� Adriel ran awkwardly to him, crushing herself to his chest. �Yes, he was in the library. I told him the good books were in here. We left the door open.�

�I see,� Lord Willem said, smiling as he stroked his daughter�s hair. �I�m glad to see you�re getting along so well. I came to talk to you before supper. If you�ll excuse us, Lord Ethain.� Willem motioned to the door.

�Of course, my lord,� Ethain said. Adriel giggled when he winked at her, and he left the room.

�I saw that,� Willem said wryly to his daughter, �but I�m quite glad to see you�re getting along with young Ethain. He�s to be--�

�My husband, I know.� Her father looked puzzled. �He told me so. And that�s fine with me. He�s very kind. He knows I limp, and he still likes me. And he loves to read!�

Willem hugged her tight. �Oh, my darling girl. I was worried. All I want is for you to be happy.�

�I think I shall be, Papa.� Adriel smiled. �Now will you take me to supper? I�m famished!� Her father chuckled as he took her arm and led the way to the dining hall.

Arm in arm, they entered the dining hall, and Lady Antonia Caldevwin rose gracefully to meet them, seeming to glide along with her feet hidden by her skirts. She was a handsome woman in her early forties, but to Adriel�s eyes her smile was not friendly so much as it was polite, and perhaps even a bit condescending. It did not extend to her eyes, which were cool and blue and were now looking Adri up and down as though examining a horse for market. Without seeming to, they appraised her from head to toe, then starting back up...and suddenly she paused perhaps ten feet distant, her gaze fixing on Adriel�s leg.

�My lady,� her father was saying, still approaching to make his greeting in the formal style. �May I present my daughter, Adriel?�

Lady Antonia�s smile grew even thinner and sharper, and she said �A pleasure, of course,� in a voice that was several degree colder than Lord Willem�s. �My lord, I see you have perhaps been amiss in mentioning some of the less...sterling qualities of your daughter.�

Willem�s brow�s drew down in an expression that was not yet anger...only puzzlement. �I beg your pardon?�

�Her...infirmity. Is it recent? Or temporary?�

Adriel was still lost as to what Lady Antonia was talking about, but as she looked to her father she saw realization come over his features. His voice was polite, but it bore a trace of strained patience. �Neither, I fear, but I really don�t see what that has to do with...�

�I�m afraid, my lord, that I could not allow my son to marry a girl who is so obviously marred by the Creator.� Lady Antonia�s voice was cool, but not malicious. She could have been declining an invitation to tea. �Yet the other match shows promise...your Eris and my...�

Adriel had rarely seen her father angry, but she saw it now. It was slow to build, but it was already lit, and she knew that it would only grow hotter. �You insult one of my daughters, and expect me to merely forget it and move on to other affairs? What do you take me for, my lady?�

�A man of sense, I should hope. You know this alliance benefits us both. Why throw it away simply because one match is unacceptable? It isn�t my fault your girl is a cripple.�

�Mother,� Ethain said, his tone nervous, but shocked. �How can you speak like that?...�

�I shall speak as I please, Ethain,� his mother answered without bothering to face him. �And I shall not have you married to a girl who may not bear you healthy children. Now kindly allow me to finish conducting business.�

�Any business I have with you is over,� Lord Willem growled, and though his voice was soft his anger was in full bloom. �I shall expect you to be on your way in the morning, my lady.� His voice dripped sarcasm as he spoke the honorific. �In the meantime, I do not feel hungry. Perhaps you would care to dine alone.� He turned at once to leave, his back iron-straight.

Adriel paused only a moment before falling beside her father...she knew it was expected of her. As she left, she glanced often behind her, looking at Lady Antonia still standing there, her face expressionless....and at Ethain, who looked somewhere between forlorn and apologetic. Tears that had been forming finally slipped down her cheeks. She had known Ethain such a short time, and yet she knew she would miss him. And she thought she would always wonder what might have been...she expected she would not see him again.

As it happened, she did. But that was years in the future.

**********

Having reached his majority not long after their return to Cairhien, Ethain refused every girl his mother presented to him. Jaichim was five years older than himself, but had ever been the dutiful son and was married off to some Caralainer girl, hand selected by their mother. As it happened, the girl�s brother had married Eris Cormallen. Of Adriel, Ethain never heard a word. He suspected she still lived in her father�s house.

Though Ethain loved his mother, it came as something of a relief when she had died last year. He had stayed with Jaichim in Cairhien until his proper mourning period ended, and then set out for Hardan. He was travel-weary, having been in the saddle for the better part of a week. He rode Smoke, his gray Caralainer stallion, through the gates of the Cormallen�s country mansion. It had been eight years since he had been here, since his mother had insulted the loveliest girl he had ever laid eyes on.

He dismounted at the main doors and untied his saddle bags. He handed Smoke�s reins to the groom, and asked the liveried man at the door if he could speak to Lord Willem. Ethain waited as the man set off to find his lord.

The years had not changed Willem much. The gold of his hair was threaded with silver now, and here and there his face bore more lines, but he still walked tall and proud. His mouth tightened a bit at the sight of Ethain standing in the courtyard.

�My lord,� Ethain began, but Willem cut him off.

�I suggest, young Master Caldevwin, that we cease with the formalities and come straight to the point?� Willem hardly waited for Ethain to nod before he continued. �Why are you here?�

�I came to see Adriel, my lord.�

�Why? So you can insult her again? Don�t you think she has suffered enough at the hand of your family?�

�With all due respect, my lord, my lady mother was the one who did the insulting, and I come to apologize for that. I know it has been many years,� he went on as Willem started to open his mouth, �but circumstances being what they were, I had to wait until my lady mother passed on. If you please, my lord, I love Adriel. I would not see her suffer any more.�

Willem�s eyes softened and he relaxed visibly. �She is not here,� he said simply.

�Not here?� Ethain�s hope that she was not yet married faltered.

�After you took leave of us here, she sought sanctuary in the White Tower. She has been there ever since, training to become Aes Sedai.�

Ethain nodded. �Is she... That is, has she...� He swallowed the lump that was forming in his throat.

�She swore she would marry none but you.� Willem sighed. �Please make my daughter happy. Since the day she was born, Adriel has been my light. Don�t snuff her out.�

�I will do my best, my lord, if she will still have me.�

Willem nodded. �Rest the night here, my lad, and take fresh supplies on the morn. Tar Valon is eight days west of here.� He called to a manservant to tend to Ethain and turned to go.

�My Lord Willem,� Ethain called after him. The broad man turned, and Ethain said simply, �Thank you.� Willem smiled, almost sadly, and left him in the courtyard.

�If it please my lord to follow me?� the liveried man asked. Ethain followed him. The days ahead would be hard, and he would be glad of a real bed and a good night�s sleep before he set out.

**********

The days of travel had indeed been hard, but Ethain had finally arrived in Tar Valon. Having lived in Cairhien all his life, and being accustomed to the wonder of the Topless Towers did not make the city or the White Tower itself any less magnificent, and Ethain stayed Smoke a moment to look on it. Adriel awaits me there, he thought. I�ll not make her wait a moment longer than I have to while I sit here and gape at the city, though.

He nudged his stallion to a trot and kept it up the ten miles to the bridge village of Daghain. Though it was past midday and his stomach complained, he would not stop. He crossed the bridge, the Osendrelle Erinin glittering beneath, at a quick walk, Smoke�s hooves ringing. By the time the sun was halfway to the western horizon, Ethain had arrived, travel-worn and weary, at the grounds of the White Tower.

Having seen his horse to the Tower stables, Ethain made his way up the broad stair and through the grand, heavily carved doors. Once inside the large round entry hall, Ethain noticed a young woman in a rainbow-hemmed white dress with honey brown curls talking to one of the petitioners. He could only see her back, but he felt sure it was Adriel. When she led the petitioner toward the hallway and gave him instructions, he was certain it was her. The slight limp would have given her away even if she had dyed her hair black. He hurried toward her, and she turned his way, headed for another petitioner. The Light had indeed shone on him, and it shone in her eyes as she smiled at him.

�Ethain,� she said warmly, her smile making her brown velvet eyes twinkle as he walked the last few paces to her. Ethain took her hands and kissed them. Adriel blushed. She was even more beautiful than he remembered. �The Light illumine you. How may the Tower help you?�

Ethain shook his head. �Not the Tower. You, Adriel.� He led her to the edge of the room. �Adriel, I spoke with you father. I want to honor the agreement our parents made and marry you.�

Adriel appeared both happy and sad. �Ethain, with all my heart, nothing would please me more. But I�ve not finished my training. I�ve been here seven and a half years, and I have about as many years ahead of me, I fear.� A single tear slid down her cheek. �I cannot marry you. At least not now. And though I have sworn to marry no other, I would not ask you to wait so long for me. Though it breaks my heart, Ethain, I would see you happy with another.�

Pulling her closer until they were face to face as they had been so long ago in Hardan, Ethain kissed her softly. �I have waited this long. And I will wait as long as it takes. I love you, Adriel. The Light shines on us. If it didn�t, I don�t think I would have found you so easily. Swear you�ll marry me, and I will walk away from here a happy man.�

Adriel bit her lip. �To swear such a thing now would be folly. Find yourself an inn in the city. Tomorrow is my free day. Meet me at the Ogier grove two hours past dawn, and we�ll talk. I can�t stay with you any longer, though. I have to get back to work.� She kissed him swiftly. �Tomorrow.�

�Tomorrow,� Ethain echoed, and Adriel disappeared into the crowd.

**********

Leaving his horse and the few belongings he had brought with him at the inn, Ethain set out for the Ogier grove. It was only an hour past dawn, but he was growing impatient. He had waited so long and traveled so far... Ethain had known for nine days that Adriel was training as Aes Sedai and took the fact into consideration. As he approached the Ogier grove, he reached in his pocket to feel a slender gold ring set with a smoky golden topaz, just the color of Adriel�s hair. He hoped against hope that she would wed him this day.

**********

Adriel saw Ethain waiting for her at the gates of the Ogier grove. As a novice, one of the Yellow sisters in the Tower had taken pity on her--though it galled her a little that the sister thought she needed pity--and had a special pair of shoes made for her, the sole of the left shoe thicker than the right. It made walking long distances or long hours more bearable, but she seldom wore them except into the city. She still limped slightly, but it was much less noticeable, at least for her. Pressing her hand to her belt pouch, she felt the impression of a ring. A simple golden band she had had made before she left Hardan. It had hung around her neck these eight years, waiting for a day she had thought would never come.

Ethain looked at her, his warm, dark eyes shining, and smiled broadly, his plain features transforming into beauty. Adriel hurried the last few paces and flung herself hard into his embrace. She held on for several moments, then released him to elbow�s length. �Follow me,� she said, and took his hand, leading him into the grove.

They had walked in companionable silence for some time when Adriel heard a Treesong. She led Ethain in the direction of the melody. When they came to the Ogier who was singing, they stood and listened, arm in arm, until he finished.

When the Ogier turned toward them, he held a chair sized for a human. �I beg your pardon, Accepted,� the Ogier rumbled.

Adriel smiled at him and curtsied. �There is nothing to forgive, alantin. I am Adriel Cormallen.� She gestured toward her companion. �This is Ethain Caldevwin. I had hoped, perhaps, you might stand as a witness for us for a few moments.�

Ethain and the Ogier both looked puzzled, and Adriel turned to Ethain, taking his hands in her own, holding them tightly so as not to let them shake. She took a deep breath, and looked into Ethain�s dark eyes.

�I, Adriel Cormallen, by the Light and my hope of salvation and rebirth, do pledge my love to you, Ethain Caldevwin, for as long as I live. What I possess in this world, I give to you� She let one hand go and reached into her belt pouch. �If you accept my pledge, take and wear this ring.� She placed the simple band in Ethain�s hand and he looked at it disbelievingly before placing it on the second finger of his left hand.

Ethain took her hands in his own and smiled. �I had hoped something like this would happen. I, Ethain Caldevwin, by the Light and my hope of salvation and rebirth, do pledge my life and love to you, Adriel Cormallen. I will honor, protect, and shelter you all my days. All I own is yours. I will not shy from danger, and whether my life or death serves you better, I will adhere to your wishes.� There were tears in Adriel�s eyes as Ethain pulled a ring from his pocket, a golden topaz sparkling on a slim gold band. He slipped it on the second finger of her left hand, the same finger he had placed her ring on his own hand. �This ring is yours, whether you accept my pledge or not.�

Adriel kissed him softly. �I accept.�

The Ogier cleared his throat, a deep rumbling sound. Adriel looked at his still puzzled face. �I�m not exactly clear on Tower Law,� he said, �but I�m not sure this is quite legal.�

Adriel laughed. �Perhaps not, but would you sign this anyway?� she asked, retrieving a document from her pouch. He still seemed puzzled, but he signed it, and Adriel tucked it back into her pouch.

**********

Twenty years had come and gone since that day in the grove, and ten of them she had worn the shawl. Though Adriel had entertained thoughts of the Green Ajah for a few years, Ethain had convinced her that her Talents and interests were probably better suited to the Brown. He had studied with the Warders those ten years before she was Raised, but was still nearly as bookish and studious as herself.

Adriel now worked in the Thirteenth Depository, known only to Aes Sedai and accessible only to the Hall, the Amyrlin, and the Keeper. And herself and Calyse Sedai, the sister who held the other librarian post for the Depository. Not precisely forbidden from the Depository, Ethain often spends his days with his Aes Sedai, shelving books and manuscripts and doing other odd errands for her.

**********

Adriel is the second daughter and third child of five born to Lord Willem Cormallen, High Seat of House Cormallen in Hardan, and his wife Caithlin. She is an average five and a half feet tall, and an average 150 pounds. She has brown eyes and wears her golden-brown curls to mid-back. She often wears plain gowns of wool or silk in shades or blue, gray, or green.

Adriel�s greatest strength lies in Air, but she is more or less equally strong in the other Five Powers. She is of average strength for an Aes Sedai, and was taught to channel, rather than having the spark inborn.

Extremely uncommon for a Brown, she is married to her Warder, whom she has a rather long history with.

~*~

Ethain is the second son of the late Antonia Caldevwin, former High Seat of House Caldevwin, and her late husband Nataniel Damodred. His brother, Jaichim Caldevwin, now holds the High Seat. Ethain is of a height and weight with Adriel. His hair and eyes are dark brown, and he often dresses in dark green or blue in the Cairhienin fashion, though without the slashes of color he is entitled to.

Before coming to Tar Valon, Ethain had already undergone some training with the sword. During his period of training with the Warders he also developed expert marksmanship.

Ethain�s hobbies include games of stones with various other Gaidin and walks with his Aes Sedai.

feeling:
current mood swing

talking:

listening:

thinking:

before || after

last five:

too much to keep in
Today's Episode: Dad learns he is not Superman
sometimes you just can't think of anything witty to say
cliques
(insert witty title here)

Content � 2001-2003 Casey G unless otherwise credited

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

get your own
diary - guestbook - weblog - notifylist

Site Meter