current
archives
cast
rings
cliques
links
gbook
mail
profile
101 things
pics
notes
quizzes
readers
jay
wyatt
pippin
chase
sisters
fiction
hotwt
diaryland

sunday school 13 April 2003 @ 11:58 pm

Oy... Church was such a challenge today. Since the boundaries for our wards were realigned, we lost some families and gained some families in our congregation. My Sunday school class lost not a single child. But I gained three. I had five before, but now I have eight kids, all of whom have turned five, or are turning five, this year. And they were crazy.

One of the new kids, Grant, was a real crack-up. First of all, when his mom told me his name, I immediately thought of Laura. Second, he looked almost exactly like my little brother did when he was a little kid. I had to contain my laughter at some of his expressions, he was just so cute! But so naughty! (Not like you're thinking!) He was the noisiest kid in my class, except Alia, of course, who was immediately his bosom buddy.

I also gained two quiet, reverent little girls, Eliana and Jensen, who make Maddie and Lauren (the other little girls in my class) also quiet and reverent by example. Then there's Austin, who can't sit still or answer anything seriously, and Eric--whoops, I'm sorry, I meant Spiderman (can you guess?). Eric is generally a good kid, but he always has some kind of toy that distracts him from class, usually a dinosaur.

Today, however, I was procrastinating, as usual, to prepare my lesson for class, and I am about to teach it, when I look at the top and it says "you might want to wait on this lesson until the children are closer to baptism." (Not word for word, but paraphrased.) The kids don't get baptized until they're 8. Most of them aren't even 5. So we sat on the floor and got to know each other. Thank goodness. They were little monkeys until we sat in our circle and took turns talking. I think I'm going to have to sit on the floor with them every week!

Anyway, I think that's all for the night. I'm tired, but I thought you all might want to know about my crazy day.

feeling:
current mood swing

talking:
no one

listening:
the clacking of keys

thinking:
I can't remember what I was doing before the computer froze...

before || after

last five:

too much to keep in
Today's Episode: Dad learns he is not Superman
sometimes you just can't think of anything witty to say
cliques
(insert witty title here)

Content � 2001-2003 Casey G unless otherwise credited

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

get your own
diary - guestbook - weblog - notifylist

Site Meter